Panasonic SD-2501WXC Breadmaker Review

Rating: 5 out of 5

Is this the Panasonic SD2501-WXC the perfect Breadmaker?

The Panasonic SD-2501WXC Breadmaker is easy to use, well made and possibly the best breadmaker I’ve used to make beautifully fresh homemade bread every day!

I bought a new Panasonic SD-2501WXC Breadmaker from Amazon to replace our Panasonic SD-253.  The only reason it needed replacing was because the pan had become scratched by a well intentioned relative using a knife to get the bread out of the pan.

PANASONIC-SD2501WXC breadmakerIntroduction

Having previously owned a Panasonic breadmaker, which served us well over a number of years, it was an easy decision to go with the SD-2501WXC.

So what does it do?

It makes brilliant bread!

It does everything you’d want a breadmaker to do and so much more. This Panasonic breadmaker is supplied with a fairly decent recipe book which contains instructions for making everything from Brioche and Pizza dough to Jam and fruit compotes.

My main use for it though is to make a reliable, tasty, loaf of bread every day. I hate supermarket bread. It’s soft and insubstantial and doesn’t really taste of anything. Even the so called “fresh” bread from the in-store bakery is generally pre-baked, frozen and then “baked off” each day.

In contrast, the bread from this Panasonic SD-2501WXC Breadmaker has a nice crust, tastes great and doesn’t disintegrate when you try to butter it. Most of the time we use the quick bake 1h55m program.

But, isn’t it difficult to make your own bread?

Not with this breadmaker it isn’t.

Simply put  flour, water, yeast, a little salt and sugar, a little butter and maybe some dried milk powder into the pan, close the lid, select quick bake (Menu 2) and the desired crust colour and hit “Start”.

Wait about 2 hours as the house fills with the smell of freshly baked bread and you’ll have a perfect loaf every time.

For more details check out the step by step instructions for making a rapid bake loaf.

Panasonic SD-2501WXC Features

Panasonic sd-2501wxc

  • Gluten Free Program
  • Raisin and Nut Dispenser
  • 13 hour Timer
  • Quick Bake Program
  • 3 different crust colours
  • Jam and Compote modes
  • 3 Loaf sizes, small, medium and large (400g, 500g, 600g)

 

 

See part two  of our Panasonic SD2501-WXC review for top tips, model comparison and our conclusion.

PART TWO

 

12 comments for “Panasonic SD-2501WXC Breadmaker Review

  1. Anna Batchelor
    July 24, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Yes its very nice, its also quite annoying and frustrating. I bought this because it has a timer, I wanted to make dough overnight and then cook it in my Aga as many of my friends do. The dough programmes do not work with the timer. This is not what the blurb about the machine says on either amazon or the Panasonic site. This is my first breadmaker and I’m disappointed. Its impossible to ask Panasonic about this ….I’ve tried.

    • br
      July 25, 2011 at 2:00 pm

      Hi Anna, that’s an interesting point and thank you for making it, hopefully it’ll help others out to know about this. I had noticed that you can’t use the timer with rapid bake loaf – which kind of makes sense, since there’s no rush if you’re cooking the bread overnight. I’ll take a look myself at whether you can use the timer with dough – I can understand how you might be annoyed, as you’re right, in that panasonic aren’t clear on this.

  2. kath
    August 24, 2011 at 6:02 am

    I bought a SD2501 but found no instruction manual inside. I went back to the shop and they gave me a copy of the instruction manual. I got home, looked at the recipe’s, put ingredients in as it said, then went back to the beginning to set the machine off only to find the manual I had was for the SD257/256. I pressed the menu button & what ever no 2 is for, this is what I cooked my loaf on. It was doughy! Have tried to find a manual that I could download but having no luck. I’m not able to go back to the shop for the next fortnight but want bread now. Help!!

    • br
      August 25, 2011 at 5:20 pm

      Hi Kath,

      The shop you got the breadmaker from sounds useless :( .

      The recipes for the SD-253 I had prior to the SD-2501WXC were pretty similar..so it might not matter that the book isn’t exactly right although you’ll be missing some info.

      From memory, (I’m not at home at the moment)…to make a small loaf do the following:

      1) Unless you want a mess put the paddle in the breadmaker pan.
      2) Put 1 tsp of powdered yeast in the bottom
      3) Put in 400g of strong white bread flour (measure it exactly and ordinary PLAIN flour that you’d use for baking will not do) .
      4) Put 1tsp of salt and 1tsp of sugar in next. You’ll have to experiment with the salt – I find 1tsp a little too much
      5) 15g of ROOM TEMPERATURE butter in next
      6) 280ml (MEASURE it exactly) of tepid water…not too cold and not hot, in next
      7) Put the pan and ingredients in the bread maker.
      8) Close the lid, select the rapid bake program (program 2 I think) and change the size to the smallest one -which I think is M and hit start.

      Sit back and wait for it to beep!

      Good luck – I’ll try and post some pics of what I do soon.

      • br
        August 25, 2011 at 9:10 pm

        Hi – just checked these instructions and they are correct.

        • br
          September 24, 2011 at 1:06 pm

          I’ve now added the recipe for a 400g loaf using the Panasonic SD2501-WXC Bread Maker under “Recipes” to show how easy it is…

          Enjoy! :o)

    • Siobhan
      April 15, 2013 at 10:49 am

      Hi Kath,I know this was ages ago but is this what you are looking for????

      http://manuals.appliancesonline.com.au/sd2501/sd2501.pdf

  3. joseph
    January 23, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    Hi All

    I recently purchased a Panasonic SD 2501 bread machine. The recipes accompanying the machine are very limited and not particularly good. Does anybody own this machine or is familiar with it in any way that can tell me where else i might be able to get suitable bread recipes for it?

    It has set menus for resting, kneading and rising times etc. So while i can find a plethora of recipes for bread generally, whether they are compatible i dont know and if they are, which menu is the relevant one for which recipe is a mystery to me.

    If anybody can assist it would be great.

  4. Charlie Webster
    December 3, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    I have a Panasonic SD2501. I’d like more recipies than are in the manual. Can anyone recommend a breadmaking recipe book that is compatible with this machine? Trying to contact Panasonic for advice is frustrating.
    Charlie

  5. peter
    December 6, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    I too would welcome advice on 1) is there a better model that allows time for dough prep 2) better recipes THanks

    • br
      December 7, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      Hi,

      so from the comments it looks like there’s some demand for some recipes that are compatible with this machine. What sort of thing were you after – what types of bread did you want to make? I may see if I can pull something together on the sort of things you can do..

  6. sparkles5678
    January 31, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    Hi,

    I searched around and found some more 2501 recipes on theideaskitchen website.
    http://theideaskitchen.co.uk/cook/recipe-finder/
    It is a Panasonic site by the look of it, and there are some recipes listed for the 2501 that are not in the manual. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *